featured Faculty stories
Baris Kasikci

Baris Kasikci awarded Microsoft Research Faculty Fellowship

The award highlights Kasikci as an emerging leader in the design of efficient and trustworthy computer systems.|Short Read
ceccio featured image

Professor Steven Ceccio honored by ASME

Steven Ceccio, the Vincent T. and Gloria M. Gorguze Professor of Engineering and the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the University of Michigan College of Engineering, has been named the 2021 recipient of the Fluids Engineering Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). |Short Read

Jerome Lynch elected 2021 EMI Fellow

Four fellows were elected this year in recognition of their exemplary research and service.|Short Read
Herbert Winful

Herbert Winful awarded the 2021 Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award

Winful is recognized for his decades of outstanding leadership and commitment to developing a culturally and ethnically diverse University of Michigan community. |Medium Read
Professors Kamat, Menassa and D'Souza

Professors and alumnus receive ASCE Wellington and Collingwood Prizes

Their winning paper seeks to enhance assisted navigation of wheeled mobility devices. |Short Read
Baris Kasikci

Baris Kasikci earns VMWare Early Career Grant

The grant recognizes recently appointed faculty whose research interests and accomplishments seem poised to have significant impact within the industry and academia.|Short Read

Anthony Waas awarded AIAA Dryden Lectureship

Michigan Aerospace Chair Anthony Waas has been chosen to give the 2022 Dryden Lecture in Research by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).|Short Read

Salar Fattahi introduces a new data analytics course for IOE

U-M IOE assistant professor, Salar Fattahi, teaches a new data analytics course that combines optimization techniques and data science with real-world case studies.|Short Read
Photo of Siqian Shen

Siqian Shen receives NSF funding for transportation system redesign

U-M IOE associate professor, Siqian Shen, has received funding from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for research on redesigning transportation for a post-pandemic world. |Short Read
Portrait of Yafeng Yin

Yafeng Yin receives Staff-Faculty Partnership Award

The award recognizes faculty who foster a collaborative work atmosphere and demonstrate exemplary partnerships with staff.|Short Read
Portrait of Ming Xu

Ming Xu receives 2021 Huber Prize from ASCE

The award recognizes especially impactful civil engineering research contributions.|Short Read
Qing Qu headshot

Prof. Qing Qu uses data and machine learning to optimize the world

Qu’s research has applications in imaging sciences, scientific discovery, healthcare, and more. |Medium Read