The Michigan Engineer News Center

2015 EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards

Winners are chosen for their outstanding accomplishments in teaching, research, and service.| Short Read

The EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented annually to faculty members for their outstanding accomplishments in teaching, research, and service.

The recipients of the 2015 EECS Outstanding Achievement Award are:

Enlargeprof kuipers

Prof. Benjamin Kuipers

For sustained leadership in the fields of Artificial Intelligence and Robotics, for serving as Graduate Program Chair for Computer Science and Engineering, and for leadership on the Robotics PhD program and the Robotics Institute.



EnlargePhoto of outstanding achievement winner

Prof. Stephen Rand

For pioneering work in the development and application of laser spectroscopy to the study of materials as well as the development of novel laser systems; and for the establishment of the Center for Dynamic Magneto-Optics (DYNAMO).




Enlargeprof wentzloff

Prof. David Wentzloff

For groundbreaking progress on low power circuits for wireless communication, including the development of both very low power and extremely small radios for body area communication; and for his leadership in co-founding PsiKick, a successful startup company developing ultra low power wireless sensing platforms.

prof kuipers
Photo of outstanding achievement winner
prof wentzloff
Portrait of Catharine June


Catharine June
ECE Communications and Marketing Manager

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

(734) 936-2965

3301 EECS

The electrons absorb laser light and set up “momentum combs” (the hills) spanning the energy valleys within the material (the red line). When the electrons have an energy allowed by the quantum mechanical structure of the material—and also touch the edge of the valley—they emit light. This is why some teeth of the combs are bright and some are dark. By measuring the emitted light and precisely locating its source, the research mapped out the energy valleys in a 2D crystal of tungsten diselenide. Credit: Markus Borsch, Quantum Science Theory Lab, University of Michigan.

Mapping quantum structures with light to unlock their capabilities

Rather than installing new “2D” semiconductors in devices to see what they can do, this new method puts them through their paces with lasers and light detectors. | Medium Read