The Michigan Engineer News Center

David Blaauw and Dennis Sylvester named Top Authors by ISSCC

Both research papers discuss ultra low-power chip design and millimeter-scale computing.| Short Read
EnlargeBlaauw and Sylvester
IMAGE:  Professor David Blaauw and Professor Dennis Sylvester
EnlargeISSCC logo

Prof. David Blaauw and Prof. Dennis Sylvester have been named two of the top contributing authors to the International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC), which is the flagship conference of the Solid-State Circuits Society.

This honor comes as part of ISSCC’s 60th anniversay celebration. The ISSCC selected an elite group of 16 authors who either presented more than 30 papers at ISSCC during the course of the past 60 years, or who are among the top 10 contributors over the past 10 years.

It is at this conference that Profs. Blaauw and Sylvester presented many of their groundbreaking research papers in the areas of ultra low-power chip design and millimeter-scale computing. In addition to their conference papers, they have served as panelists in special sessions, presented invited talks, and their students have been winners in the 2009 and 2011 DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest. Prof. Sylvester received the Beatrice Winner award for editorial excellence at ISSCC 2000.

Dennis and David are co-authors on several of the ISSCC papers. They also co-founded the company Ambiq Micro along with former student Dr. Scott Hanson in 2009. The company specializes in energy-efficient integrated circuits.

The announcement was made public at this year’s ISSCC Plenary Session, Monday, February 18, 2013.

Blaauw and Sylvester
ISSCC logo
Portrait of Catharine June


Catharine June
ECE Communications and Marketing Manager

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

(734) 936-2965

3301 EECS

The outside of the Ford Robotics building

U-Michigan, Ford open world-class robotics complex

The facility will accelerate the future of advanced and more equitable robotics and mobility | Medium Read