The Michigan Engineer News Center

2012 EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards

Congratulations to these amazing faculty members!| Short Read

The EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented annually to a faculty member in the areas of computer science, electrical engineering, and systems engineering. Each faculty member is recognized for their accomplishments in teaching, research, and service, as well as special contributions as noted.

The recipients of the 2012 EECS Outstanding Achievement Award are:

Enlargesatinder singh

Satinder Singh Baveja
Director, Artificial Intelligence Lab

For innovative research in reinforcement learning, developing new undergraduate courses in machine learning and computational art, and for leading the CSE search committee and the Artificial Intelligence Laboratory.

Enlargeian hiskens

Ian Hiskens
Vennema Professor of Engineering

For leadership in re-establishing research and education in the areas of electric power systems, electric machines, and power electronics in the EECS Department; for developing new courses in power and energy systems; and for innovative research on the stability and control of electrical power systems.


Dennis Sylvester
Director, Michigan Integrated Circuits Laboratory

For innovative research in millimeter-scale, energy-efficient integrated circuits; for leadership in the establishment of the Michigan Integrated Circuits Laboratory (MICL); and for sustained excellence in teaching and curriculum development in integrated circuits and VLSI.

satinder singh
ian hiskens
Portrait of Catharine June


Catharine June
ECE Communications and Marketing Manager

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

(734) 936-2965

3301 EECS

The outside of the Ford Robotics building

U-Michigan, Ford open world-class robotics complex

The facility will accelerate the future of advanced and more equitable robotics and mobility | Medium Read