The Michigan Engineer News Center

Awards Announced at ASCE-CEEFA Banquet

ASCE and CEEFA held a joint banquet honoring graduates and members of the CEE community for their service to the department over the past year. | Short Read

ASCE announced their annual award recipients for GSI, staff, and faculty member of the year. The recipients were: David Saftner, GSI of the year; Matt Blank, Staff of the year; and Assistant Professor Jason McCormick, Faculty of the year. ASCE President Evan Avery spoke about the organization’s activities over the past year and Social Chair Julie Tibbitts presented videos recapping the Steel Bridge and Concrete Canoe Regional Competition.

During the banquet, CEEFA announced the recipient of the Third Annual CEEFA Faculty Award which was presented to Professor Terese Olson. Professor Olson was given the award for her service as an exemplary educator, researcher, leader and citizen of the department. CEEFA President Jennifer Macks stated, “Through her commitment to education, professional ethics and self-sacrifice, she has made a positive contribution to the department culture that students and faculty will benefit from for many years to come.”

Jessica Petras


Jessica Petras
Marketing Communications Specialist

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

(734) 764-9876

GG Brown 2105E

the ISS overlooks aurora borealis

More than $5M to improve solar storm forecasts

U-Michigan researchers play lead roles in national effort funded by NSF, NASA. | Medium Read